InfoGuides: Research Basics: Start Your Search

Databases for general topics

Virginia Western Community College offers more than 100 databases. It can be hard to decide where to start when you are beginning your research. The following databases are a great starting point for doing general research.

Academic Search Complete
Our biggest and most general database, ASC searches for articles in many different subject areas.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher contains reports for controversial topics. You will find data and statistics within the body of reports. Many reports will also include charts or graphs.
Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Issues & Controversies
Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical controversial events.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides balanced coverage, pro/con articles, and different viewpoints of controversial issues.

All Library Databases
A searchable listing of all of our databases (search engines), organized by subject area.

Gather Background Information

Use reference works, like encyclopedias, to gather background information about your topic.

Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Database Basics [Video]

Need help searching a library database for sources? This video covers the basics.

Finding Books

You can search the library's catalog online to find books, eBooks & videos. If you find a print book or DVD you'd like to check out, bring a photo ID to the checkout desk on the 2nd floor of Brown Library.

Library Catalog (PRIMO)
The searchable list of the books, DVDs, eBooks, and online videos the library owns.