• Wikimedia Commons - All images in this large collection have either a Creative Commons license or are in the public domain.
• Flickr Commons - The goal of this site is to share large repositories of publicly-held photographs. Be sure to use the search box near the center of the page. You can also limit your searches on the Flickr website by license type.
• The Noun Project - A large and dynamic collection of Creative Commons-licensed icons.
• Vecteezy - A mix of commercial and creative commons-licensed images. Use the license filter on the left side and be aware of the ad-images at the top.
• Public Health Image Library - From the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), these images are in the public domain and free to use, alter, or share.
• Smithsonian Open Access - A growing collection of nearly 3 million 2D and 3D images free to use, share, or remix. No permission is needed.
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Collection - This large collection of digital images is very useful but has limitations: most images are of a historical nature, not all images are available in full size, copyright status is not always stated. If you have any questions about using these images, contact Dale Dulaney (ddulaney@virginiawestern.edu or 857-7438)
• Unsplash - An excellent collection of diverse, high-quality images.
• Getty Museum Open Content Program - A collection of images held by the J. Paul Getty Museum that are in the public domain.
Use the link below to find a treasure trove of openly licensed slides and images for Biology.
Open Stax Biology Ancillaries from Affordable Learning Georgia
Open Stax Biology 2e from Rice University
Would you like additional information or help?
Contact Dale Dulaney, Collections & OER Librarian, ddulaney@virginiawestern.edu, 857-7438.
OER Image Attribution Example
Here is a photo. Following is the best practice for attributing it.
This is an ideal attribution.
"Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" by tvol is licensed under CC-BY 2.0
Because:
Title: "Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco"
Author? "tvol" - linked to his profile page
Source? "Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" - linked to original Flickr page
License? "CC BY 2.0" - linked to license deed
Content from "Best practices for attribution" by Creativecommons.org is licensed under CC-BY 4.0
Brown Library
3095 Colonial Ave. SW
Phone: 540.857.7303
