InfoGuides: Finding STEM Information (SDV 101): Finding sources

Books in the Library

Brown Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system for organizing books. STEM books have call numbers (a book's location on the shelf) beginning with Q, R, and T. Come visit!

Interlibrary Loan

If you cannot find resources in our collection, or if you know of a specific resource you would like, send in a request through Interlibrary Loan. Our librarians will locate the book or article for you and have it brought in for your use. Fill out the request forms online: Interlibrary Loan Form

Background Information

Science in Context & Gale Virtual Reference Library are great for background information and basic overviews, but may not be peer-reviewed. Check carefully if your professor requires that you use scholarly journal articles only.

Science in Context
Journal articles, book chapters, and topic overviews for Biology, Chemistry, & other science fields.
Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Article searching (databases)

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. (EBSCO) Tutorial
Biological Science Collection
Full-text journal articles in biological science.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,720 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. (EBSCO)
MEDLINE
This is the academic version of the web-based PubMed search, but also provides additional full text for nearly 1,200 journals on a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

All STEM Databases
A listing of all of our library databases for STEM subjects.

Database Basics [Video]

Need help searching a library database for sources? This video covers the basics.