Skip to Main Content

English 112

Find the resources you need for research in ENG 112.

Introduction to MLA Style

MLA Style is a common citation style that is typically used for courses in the humanities, arts, and literature. The official style guide is published by the Modern Language Association, and it usually gets updated every few years. The current edition is the 9th edition, published in 2021. There are two main components of an MLA citation: the entry in the Works Cited page, and in-text citations.

This page will show you how to set up your paper in MLA format, and how to properly cite a variety of resources, both in your Works Cited list and within your paper using in-text citations.

Other helpful resources:

Paper Formatting

MLA paper formatting follows these key guidelines:

  1. Font and Size: Use a readable font like Times New Roman, size 12.
  2. Margins: Set 1-inch margins on all sides.
  3. Line Spacing: Double-space the entire paper, including the Works Cited page.
  4. Header/Page Numbers: Include a header with your last name and page number in the top right corner.
  5. Title: Center the title without underlining, bolding, or italicizing it. Do not use extra spaces before or after the title.
  6. Works Cited: Start on a new page at the end of your paper and list all sources in alphabetical order by author’s last name. Use a hanging indent for each citation.

Sample Papers:

Citation Components

The author is the creator of the source. Sometimes the author can be a corporation or a group. For general authors, list their full last name, a comma, and their full first and middle names/initials. See below for examples on how to format multiple authors and organization/corporation authors:

  • One author: Smith, John.
  • Two authors: Smith, John, and Lee Miller.
  • Three or more authors: Smith, John, et al.
  • Organizational author: Virginia Western Community College.

*If the source is published by the same organization that is the author, leave off the author and begin the citation with the title.

For more information about the Author element, see the MLA Handbook pages 107-121.

The title is the name of the source. Always use title-casing, which means capitalizing all the important words in the title. Put a period at the end of the title. The way you format the title in the Works Cited page depends on what type of source it is. You will place the title in either quotation marks or italics.

You should place titles of stand-alone works in italics:

  • Books
  • Movies
  • Websites

You should place something that's part of a bigger work in "quotation marks":

  • Book chapters
  • Articles
  • Webpages

For more information about the Title element, see the MLA Handbook pages 121 - 134.

 

A container refers to a larger work that holds or contains a smaller work. Containers are important for citing sources like articles, chapters, or essays that are part of a bigger work, such as a book, journal, or website.

For example:

  • A book is a container for a chapter or essay.
  • A journal is a container for an article.
  • A website is a container for a webpage or article.

Containers are usually italicized, and end with a comma.

For more information about the Container element, see the MLA Handbook pages 134 - 145.

Version refers to a subsequent edition of a work. This usually includes the following: any numbered editions (not including first editions), updated editions, e-book editions, and revised editions. Version is usually limited to being used for sources that are books.

In the Works Cited list, the version is stylized depending on the type of edition. Numbered editions use ordinal numbers with no superscript. Revised and edition should both be abbreviated.

  • 2nd ed.
  • 4th ed.
  • 10th ed.
  • rev. ed.
  • expanded ed.

The edition should always be lowercase, unless it comes after a period in the citation.

For more information about the Version element, see the MLA Handbook pages 154 - 158.

The publisher is the primary entity that produces a work. The publisher information will be different depending on the type of source you are using. Some common examples of publishers include:

  • book publishing companies
  • departments or agencies that produce government publications
  • organizations responsible for producing websites
  • production companies for film or television series

The publisher information does not have any special formatting. Record the name of the publisher as it appears in your source. End it with a comma.

For more information about the Publisher element, see the MLA Handbook pages 164 - 173.

The date element tells your reader when a work was published. Use the Day Month Year format, followed by a comma. Abbreviate all months except for May, June, and July. How much you record for the date depends on the type of source you're using:

  • Use years for books and most articles (e.g. 2025).
  • Use full dates for websites (e.g. 14 Dec. 2023).
  • If there is no date, leave it off.

For online sources (like websites and articles) that include both an updated date and a publication date, use the most recent one.

For more information about the Date element, see the MLA Handbook pages 174 - 187.

The location tells the reader where a source can be found. The information you include is dependent on the type of source you are citing.

  • For print sources (like book chapters or works in an anthology), you will use page numbers.
  • For online sources, you will use a DOI, permalink, or URL.
  • For sources seen in person (like art galleries or museum exhibits), you will use the physical space or building.

For more information about the Location element, see the MLA Handbook pages 187 - 197.

A contributor refers to a person who was involved in the creation of a work, but not as the main author. Contributors usually include editors, translators, illustrators, performers, or anyone else who has played a significant role in the creation of a work. Contributor are typically ended with a comma.

Some examples of citing a contributor include:

  • edited by
  • illustrated by
  • performance by
  • directed by
  • translated by

For more information about the Contributor element, see the MLA Handbook pages 145 - 154.

 

Sometimes a source you are using is part of a numbered sequence. Some examples of numbers are volumes, issues, episodes, or seasons. The most common number you will likely come across are the volume and issue numbers of journal articles. They are usually notated as vol. X, no. X. See the following example of a journal article citation below; the number element is in bold:

Hessler, Michael, et al. "Availability of Cookies During an Academic Course Session Affects Evaluation of Teaching." Medical Education, vol. 52, 2018, pp. 1064-1072. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1111/medu.13627.

For more information about the Number element, see the MLA Handbook pages 158 - 164.


 

Citation Templates and Examples

Book

Template:
Author. Title of Book. Publisher, Date.

Example:

Kitagawa, Kate, and Timothy Revell. The Secret Lives of Numbers: A Hidden History of Math's Unsung Trailblazers. William Morrow, 2023.

In-Text Citation:
(Kitagawa and Revell 77)

Book with an Editor

Template:
Editor, editor(s). Title of Book. Publisher, Date.

Example:

Paulson, Ronald, editor. Satire: Modern Essays in Criticism. Prentice-Hall, 1971.

In-Text Citation:
(Paulson) or (Paulson 52)

Chapter in an Edited Book

Template:
Author of Chapter. “Title of Chapter.” Title of Book, edited by Editors, Edition, Volume, Publisher, Date, pp. X-X.

Example:

Leyburn, Ellen Douglass. “Animal Stories.” Satire: Modern Essays in Criticism, edited by Ronald Paulson, Prentice-Hall, 1971, pp. 217-232.

In-Text Citation:
(Leyburn 225)

Work in an Anthology

Template:
Author of Work. “Title of Work.” Title of Anthology, edited by Editors, Edition, Volume, Publisher, Date, pp. X-X.

Example:

Hawthorne, Nathaniel. “Young Goodman Brown.” 1835. Anthology of American Literature, edited by George McMichael, Macmillan, 1980, pp. 1135-1144.
*original publication date provided after title of work

In-Text Citation:
(Hawthorne)

Sacred Texts

Template:
Title of Text. Edition, Publisher, Date.

Example:

The Holy Qur'an. Translated by Abdullah Yusuf Ali, Wordsworth Editions, 2000.

In-Text Citation:
(The Holy Qur'an, 56.17-18)

Journal Article

Template:
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. X, no. X, Date, pp. X-X. Database Name, DOI/URL.

Example:

Bønnelykke-Behrndtz, Marie Louise, et al. "Unraveling the Effect of Recreational Fear on Inflammation: A Prospective
Cohort Field Study." Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, vol. 123, 2025, pp. 1042-1051. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbi.2024.10.036.

In-Text Citation:
(Bønnelykke-Behrndtz et al. 1045)

Magazine Article

Template:
Author. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Full Date, URL.
*include italicized Database name before URL if found in a database.

Example:

Douglas, Kate. “The Nature Fix.” New Scientist, 27 Mar. 2021. Academic Search Complete, https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?
id=caf491b8-f8a2-3a0b-a2d7-95f0f77ee911.

In-Text Citation:
(Douglas)

Newspaper Article

Template:
Author. “Title of Article.” Newspaper Title [City, if needed], Full Date. Database/Website, URL.

Example:

Miller, Katrina. “A ‘Speedy Little Star’ May Be on Course to Escape Our Galaxy.” The New York Times, 21 Aug. 2024, www.nytimes.com/2024/08/21/science/speeding-star-escape-galaxy.html.

In-Text Citation:
(Miller)

Webpage

Template:
Author. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website, Publisher, Date, URL.

*If the author is a company that is the same name as the website and publisher, leave off the author component and start with the title.

Example:

"Safety Guidelines: After a Hurricane or Other Tropical Storm." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 7 Feb. 2024, www.cdc.gov/hurricanes/safety/how-to-safely-stay-safe-after-a-hurricane-or-other-tropical-storm.html.

In-Text Citation:
("Safety Guidelines")

Blog Post

Template:
Author. "Title of Blog Post." Title of Blog, Publisher, Date, URL.

Example:

Green, Alison. "How to Deal With a Coworker Who's Rude to You." Ask a Manager, 6 Nov. 2017, www.askamanager.org/2017/11/how-to-deal-with-a-coworker-whos-rude-to-you.html.

In-Text Citation:
(Green)
 

Online Video

Template:
Creator. "Title of Video." Website, uploaded by User, Date, URL.

Example:

Not Just Bikes. "These Stupid Trucks are Literally Killing Us." YouTube, 6 Mar. 2023, www.youtube.com/watch?v=jN7mSXMruEo.

In-Text Citation:
(Not Just Bikes 00:08:35)

Films (DVD/Blu-Ray)

Template:
Title of Film. Directed by Director Name, Production Companies, Date.

Main Contributor*, Role. Title of Film. Directed by Director Name, Production Companies, Date.
*Choose the main contributor based on what your research is focused on.

Examples:

Nosferatu. Directed by Robert Eggers, Maiden Voyage Pictures / Studio 8 / Birch Hill Road Entertainment, 2024.

Skarsgård, Bill, performer. Nosferatu. Directed by Robert Eggers, Maiden Voyage Pictures / Studio 8 / Birch Hill Road Entertainment, 2024.

In-Text Citation:
(Nosferatu 01:12:33)
(Skarsgård 01:12:33)

Streaming Films/Videos

Template:
Title of Film/Video. Directed by Director, Production Companies, Date. Website/Database, URL.

Example:

Cuckoo. Directed by Tilman Singer, Neon, 2024. Kanopy, www.kanopy.com/en/virginiawestern/video/14800632.

In-Text Citation:
(Cuckoo 00:45:23)

Journal Article

Template:
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. X, no. X, Date, pp. X-X.

Example:

Harlin, Rebecca. “Research into Practice: What Do You Really Know about Learning?” Journal of Research in Childhood, vol. 23, no. 2, 2008, pp. 125-134.

In-Text Citation:
(Harlin 126)

Magazine Article

Template:
Author. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Full Date, pp. X-X.

Example:

Nordhaus, Hannah. "Survivors from the Dinosaur Age." National Geographic, Apr. 2025, pp. 114-133.

In-Text Citation:
(Nordhaus 118)

Newspaper Article

Template:
Author. “Title of Article.” Newspaper Title [City, if needed], Full Date, pp. X-X.

Example:

Shurafa, Wafaa. “A Displaced Family Wanders in Ruins.” The Roanoke Times, 7 Oct. 2024, p. A1.

In-Text Citation:
(Shurafa A1)

Figures and Images

If you are using figures, graphics, and images from external sources within your paper, you need to include a Works Cited entry for where the image came from and then a caption underneath the image, using the abbreviation Fig. for figure and number of the figure. Captions should include the creator (in normal order), title of the source, and date.

Screenshots should cite the location where the screenshot was taken in the Works Cited list and then provide a caption with major details, including the title of the source, the author/creator, and the date (if available).

In the following examples, the Works Cited entry is listed underneath each example.

Screenshot from Website

Because websites can change, include the accessed date in your caption.

Fig. 1. "Brown Library," Virginia Western Community College, accessed 14 Apr. 2025.

"Brown Library." Virginia Western Community College, www.virginiawestern.edu/library/. Accessed 14 Apr. 2025.

Still from Film

Fig. 2. Longlegs, directed by Osgood Perkins, 2024.

Longlegs. Directed by Osgood Perkins, Neon, 2024.

Still from TV Series

Fig. 3. "Woe's Hollow," Severance, created by Dan Erickson, 2025.

"Woe's Hollow." Severance, created by Dan Erickson, season 2, episode 4, Apple TV+, 7 Feb. 2025.

Still from Video Game

Fig. 4. Alan Wake 2, directed by Lake and Rowley, 2023.

Alan Wake 2. Directed by Sam Lake and Kyle Rowley, Remedy Entertainment / Epic Games Publishing, 2023. Sony PlayStation 5 game.

For graphs and figures from published works, include a full Works Cited entry for that work, and then provide a caption with the major details, including the author/creator, title, source information, and date (if available). Use the title for the source you are citing, not the title given to a graph or figure. If the title is excessively long, you may use the first few words.

In the following examples, the Works Cited entry is listed underneath each example.

Graph from a Journal Article

Fig. 5.  Jodi Jameson et al., "Evolving and Enduring Patterns," College & Research Libraries, 2019.

Jameson, Jodi, et al. "Evolving and Enduring Patterns Surrounding Student Usage and Perceptions of Academic Library Reference Services." College & Research Libraries, vol. 80, no. 3, 2019, pp. 366–385. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.80.3.366

Graph on a Website

Fig. 6. Jeffrey M. Jones, "Extreme Weather Affects Sharply More in Western U.S.," Gallup, 1 Apr. 2025.

Jones, Jeffrey M. "Extreme Weather Affects Sharply More in Western U.S." Gallup, 1 Apr. 2025, news.gallup.com/poll/658745/extreme-weather-affects-sharply-western.aspx.

For images from books, include a full Works Cited entry for that work, and then provide a caption with the major details, including the author/creator, book title, and date (if available). If the title is excessively long, you may use the first few words.

In the following examples, the Works Cited entry is listed underneath each example.

Book Illustration

Fig. 7. Junji Ito, Tomie, 2016.

Ito, Junji. Tomie. Deluxe ed., VIZ Media, 2016.

Graph or Figure from a Book

Fig. 8. Peter Felten et al., Connections are Everything, 2023.

Felten, Peter, et al. Connections are Everything: A College Student's Guide to Relationship-Rich Education. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2023.

You only need to include the prompt, tool, and date generated as part of the caption. There is no need for a separate Works Cited list entry.

Fig. 9. "College student using the library" prompt, DALL-E, version 3, OpenAI, 15 Apr. 2025, openai.com/index/dall-e-3/.

Brown Library

3095 Colonial Ave. SW
Phone: 540.857.7303