InfoGuides: English 111: Finding Articles

Top Research Databases

Virginia Western Community College offers more than 100 databases. It can be hard to decide where to start when you are beginning your research. The following databases are a great starting point for doing general research.

Academic Search Complete
Our biggest and most general database, ASC searches for articles in many different subject areas.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher contains reports for controversial topics. You will find data and statistics within the body of reports. Many reports will also include charts or graphs.
Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Issues & Controversies
Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical controversial events.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides balanced coverage, pro/con articles, and different viewpoints of controversial issues.

All Library Databases
A searchable listing of all of our databases (search engines), organized by subject area.

Literature and Humanities Databases

Gale Literary Sources
Artemis searches Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online, and Twayne’s Authors Online.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations for journals in English & the Humanities. (EBSCO)
JSTOR
Full-text academic journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. VWCC-specific subscription.
Project MUSE
Full-text articles in the Humanities, Literature, and Classical Studies.

All Library Databases
A searchable listing of all of our databases (search engines), organized by subject area.

Database Basics [Video]

Need help searching a library database for sources? This video covers the basics.