InfoGuides: Daily Life in American History: 1945 to the Present

Start Here!

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by Randall M. Miller
ISBN: 9780313065361

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

The Greenwood Encyclopedia is organized by time period and explores all the different aspects of daily life in American between 1763 and 2005.

The Oxford Encyclopedia also offers information on a broad range of social issues from everyday life such as health, sexuality, technology, slavery, work, and more.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History by Lynn Dumenil (Contribution by); Paul Boyer (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780199743360

Publication Date: 2012-04-13

Instructional Video Series for American History

This series of instructional videos contains scholarly information about each time period in American History. The transcripts for each video are available on the website, which is great for including quotes in your research.

American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Browse the Shelf

Books on focused on this era begin with the call numbers:

BL2525 and BR515 (Religion in America)

CR113.5 .B66 2002 (Confederate Flag)

DS557 through DS559.9 (Vietnam)

E169.1 (Daily Life)

E183 (National Characteristics)

E185 (Black History)

E838 through E889 (US History)

GT605 (Clothing)

GV706.5 (Sports)

HN29 and HN58 (Social Change)

KF225.Z56 (Racial Profiling in Law Enforcement)