InfoGuides: Daily Life in American History: Civil War, 1861-1865

Start Here!

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by Randall M. Miller
ISBN: 9780313065361

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

The Greenwood Encyclopedia is organized by time period and explores all the different aspects of daily life in American between 1763 and 2005.

The Oxford Encyclopedia also offers information on a broad range of social issues from everyday life such as health, sexuality, technology, slavery, work, and more.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History by Lynn Dumenil (Contribution by); Paul Boyer (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780199743360

Publication Date: 2012-04-13

Instructional Video Series for American History

This series of instructional videos contains scholarly information about each time period in American History. The transcripts for each video are available on the website, which is great for including quotes in your research.

American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Archival Databases

Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865
Provides access to the content and pages of Harper's Weekly. The Civil War Era section covers issues published from 1857-1877. The database provides indexing that matches 19th century words, phrases and images with today's terminology as well as digital images of every page of the magazine. Searches can be done by occupation or role in society, or by searching any combination of four indexes: subject, illustrations, literature, and publishing.

Browse the Shelf

Books on focused on this era begin with the call numbers:

BL2525 and BR515 (Religion in America)

E166 through E169 (Daily Life)

E185 (Black History)

E449.D75 A25 (Fredrick Douglass)

GR103 (African American folklore)

HD6057.5.U5 J66 (African American Women)

N6510 .H3 (Art)

R853.H8 W37 2006 (Medicine)