InfoGuides: Photography: Articles

Off-Campus Access

MyVWCC portal sign in screenshot

All databases can be accessed off-campus 24/7 by logging in with your MyVWCC username and password. If you have trouble with your login, contact the Help Desk at 540-857-7354 or helpdesk@virginiawestern.edu.

Suggested Databases for Photography

Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Academic Search Complete
Useful for: photographer biographies and photograph criticism

Humanities International Complete
Useful for: photographer biographies and photograph criticism

MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. (EBSCO)
Project MUSE
Full-text articles in the Humanities, Literature, and Classical Studies.

eJournals & eMagazines

Apogee Photo Magazine
Offers hundreds upon hundreds of high quality photographic articles and tips and techniques around a wide array of subjects suited to the enthusiast, beginner, intermediate, or advanced photographer.
ePHOTOzine
UK-based photography eMagazine. Features news, product reviews, community forums, photo contests, and more.
f11 Magazine
For professional and enthusiast photographers, designers and creative people working with images, as well as buyers and collectors of photography.
FlakPhoto
Online art space + digital photo publication that celebrates the culture of 21st century image-making.
F-Stop: A Photography Magazine
An online photography magazine featuring contemporary photography from established and emerging photographers from around the world. Each issue has a theme or an idea that the unites the photographs to create a dynamic dialogue among the artists.
LensCulture
Exciting work from every continent, and from diverse points of view: documentary, fine art, nature, photojournalism, activism, street photography, sports, fashion, poetic, personal, abstract and human.
Lunatic: Creative Contemporary Photojournalism
A bi-annual online photo magazine presenting new work from known and unknown talented photographers from all around the world.
Nature Photographers Online Magazine
An online resource for nature photographers of all skill levels, from beginner to professional. The focus is on the art and technique of nature, wildlife and landscape photography.